Birchbox 

One of my New Years resolutions was to pay myself a bit more attention… Like I used to before I had children.

I have lost a bit of weight, spent more money on clothes than the previous 4 years and have started to enjoy make up again.
You probably don’t know this about me but I am actually a qualified Make Up Artist, I used to be obsessed with make up and beauty products but as I’ve got older and my priorities have changed, I’ve found myself sticking to the same old products and routines, which are quite frankly a bit dated and pretty damn dull.

I’ve heard a lot about Birchbox so thought I’d bite the bullet and give it a try. For those of you that may not know, Birchbox is a subscription box that is sent to your house monthly, full of make up, skin and beauty products for you to try. It’s around £10 a month depending on which subscription you choose and in my opinion is an absolutely bargain for what you get.

Click below to subscribe and you will get £5 to spend in the Birchbox store…

Subscribe to Birchbox

Now who wouldn’t want a little parcel in the post every month?!

For July’s box, Birchbox colloborated with Millie Mackintosh and they named it ‘Never ending summer’

When I signed up, I filled in a really quick survey about myself so that the products I am sent will be suitable for my skin type, hair colour etc.

This is what was inside the box…


As soon as I opened the box I tested the lipstick. It’s not normally a shade I would choose as I’m more of a red lipstick gal, but it’s nice for day time, as it’s quite sheer so not too heavy.



I’m in my 30’s so anti ageing products are something I’m having to explore. Although I’m lucky enough not to be showing too many signs of ageing YET, I know they will creep up on me so I think it’s important to take procedures sooner rather than later.

This evening I have tried out the collagen mask. I was excited to see this because my skin is quite dry so anything that smooths it is a winner. I was also interested to see if it would lift and firm my skin like it claims to…

I’m not going to lie, the mask made me look like a complete twat and my 2 year old asked who I was meant to be, but the overall results were great.


My skin feels fresh and definitely more hydrated, and I’d be lying if I said my face didn’t feel firmer. I’m impressed!

I am yet to give the anti wrinkle protect fluid a try as I only received it today, but I will put it on tonight and if I don’t wake up in the morning looking like a fresh faced teenager then I will be demanding a refund!! Only joking… I will just have to update you on my progress!

I hardly ever paint my nails, for 2 reasons… I don’t have time to maintain the ‘chipping’ and secondly, I don’t have the patience to wait for it to dry!
Having said that, I love the navy coloured nails inc nail varnish I received in the box so I have given it a try…


It was easy to apply, and dried surprisingly fast! Remember I’m behind the times with this beauty lark so maybe the science behind nail varnish drying times has advanced since I used to wear it.

I will be painting my toe nails with it tonight…

Last but not least I received a full sized ‘frizz ease’ serum. This is perfect for me because I have thick, wild, curly, frizzy hair before the GHD’s come out to play! I haven’t tried it yet but I am excited to see if it tames my beast of a Barnet in the morning!


Inside the box was this nifty little drawstring bag as well…


So if like me, you need to give yourself a bit of a beauty boost and can spare £10 a month, I would totally recommend treating yourself and signing up to Birchbox.

Remember if you sign up via this link Subscribe to Birchbox you will receive £5 to spend in the Birchbox shop, where you can buy more make up and beauty bits.

Until next time,

Hayley x

Leave a Reply

