Did I mention that I used to be thin?

 Did I mention that I used to be thin? This is a phrase I hear myself saying a lot.I say this, because I feel like I should say what I think people are thinking. Silly I know. 

Over the past 10 years I have put on approx 2 stone and I just can’t seem to shift it no matter what I do. 
Don’t get me wrong, I’m not massive, I’m a standard size 12 but on a 5ft 2 frame, I feel like an umper lumper. 

I’ve tried weight watchers, slimming world, low carb and I always lose about 10lbs and then it stops. So I give up and go back to bad eating habits again. 

Why can’t I just wake up one morning a size 8, and just have to maintain it? 

Truth is, I kid myself, and tell myself all the classic dieters white lies to justify my bad habits. 

Oh it’s ok, I can eat this chocolate bar, I’ve been up and down the stairs a lot today, I definitely deserve it. 

I’ll just eat this family sized bag of malteasers (the lighter way to eat chocolate) instead of having dinner, it’s about the same amount of calories, so that’s fine. 

But it’s not fine is it… I am a fool to myself. Because my weight is something that gets me down a lot, yet I don’t seem prepared to do anything about it. 

I can be really good for a week or 2 and then ‘aunt flow’ makes an appearance and I turn in to a beast eating my way through the kitchen. “I can’t help it, it’s my hormones”

Honestly though, it’s boring isn’t it? “Why have abs when you can have kebabs” – I stole that one from my friend. 

We tell ourselves these things to make ourselves feel better, even if it is only for the time it takes to destroy a snickers bar. 

In reality, being ‘bigger’ puts strain on my confidence, my health, and my ability to embrace my style and wear what the hell I want! I am 31 now, and at some point before I’m too old, would like to be able to wear a body con dress without looking like I’ve stuffed a bum bag under it. 

I think I’m a boredom eater. Nice food gives you something to look forward to. If I’m out shopping or busy doing stuff at home I don’t think about food. Maybe that’s the answer… Win the lottery so I can afford to shop all day, I’d definitely be skinny then. Or I could just pay for lipo, that would work. 

Exercise is a whole other ball game. I used to be a dancer, which didn’t feel like exercise, but if I tried to dance now I’d probably break a hip. 

I did an exercise video from ‘the body coach’ the other day. I managed 15 minutes and had to stop due to chest pains, I definitely think it caused a mini heart attack. 

The following 2 days I was in agony, walking around work like John Wayne. People were asking if I was ok, to which I responded “I did exercise.” 

I haven’t done it since. 

Do you struggle to lose weight? 

Or do you have any tips to help us that do? 

Please share your experiences with me. 

Thanks for reading. 
Hayley x x 

2 thoughts on “Did I mention that I used to be thin?

    1. I always have a date in my mind of when I need to lose weight by… It never happens! πŸ™ˆ I have a wedding coming up in June, really want to shift some pounds for that! Good luck to you, have a lovely holiday and thank you for reading x x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

